“FACEBOOK AND ITS PRIVACY”

 

Facebook is one of the most amazing free apps that have ever been introduced. It has millions of users all over the world. Facebook is used by people of every class from celebrities to politicians and normal people.

It's used for setting up web pages, connecting with friends and family and for sharing pictures and events. Facebook owner Mark Zuckerberg and his team have introduced a lot of features to keep the privacy of their users.

Facebook also offers a range of privacy options to its members. A user can set all his communications visible to everyone, he can block a specific person or if he wants to he can keep his entire communications private. The users can also choose whether or not to be searchable, and they can choose which parts of their profile should be public, or what not to put in their news feeds and set exactly who can see their posts. For those users who wish to use Facebook to communicate privately, there is a message feature like an email. You can Buy Facebook accounts and get more privacy features.

Facebook has different options for its users to keep their privacy. Let’s see what these options are:

 

• Choose Who Can See Your Posts:

It’s one of the key privacy concerns of users who’re concerned. No-one wants unwanted people spying on their weekend activities, so it’s important to be clear about when you post. Whenever you upload a photo, fill in a status, or check-in at a location there’s the opportunity to customize whom you wish to share with. You can also adjust this by clicking on the upper right option and selecting “Who can see my post?” You can also choose who can see posts that you have posted in the past.

Friends – By selecting this option only people of your “Friends list” can see the post. If you want your posts to be shown only to your friends then you can choose the “Show to” option and then Select Friends and you’re done.

Public – By clicking on the option “Public” your post will be visible to people who are not your friends. If you want to spread your post to more audience then you can choose this option by clicking on the right padlock of your post and then Select> Public.

Only You – If you’ve posted something that you didn’t like or if you’re not ready to upload it you can choose the “Only Me” option. Facebook won’t show your post unless you open it for your friends or public.

• Watch Out For Different Applications Authorization:

 Like any other application, Facebook has third-party services associated with them so whether they’re news channel services, fitness applications, different games, any other social networks, streaming application or photo-sharing apps. All of them become associated with your Facebook account once you install them on your smartphone or pc. You can also choose the “Privacy” then go to All Settings > Apps and adjust who will be able to watch your activity.

 • Keep Your Personal Information Hidden From Unwanted People:

Over the years, Facebook has probably collected different personal information. Like your email address, your birthday and date, your phone number, where you have studied or studying, your gender, where you belong to, where you work at, who you are married to and who you are connected to.

You can change who sees what by heading to the “About” section of your profile and selecting Edit under each section. To change the privacy settings from “Your Friends” to “Only Me” will hide the given information from your profile. If you want to completely remove it you can click on the “X” to eliminate any changes.

• Hide Your Posts From Different People:

One of the most important features of Facebook privacy is choosing who you want to show your post. For example, If you want to post about something and you want certain friends to not see it, you can choose the option “Custom” at the upper right of your post where you’ll see options of different names. You can restrain individuals from looking at your post by adding their name in the list of “Don’t Show It to XYZ

• Watch Out For Different Applications Authorization:

Like any other application, Facebook has third-party services associated with them so whether they’re news channel services, fitness applications, different games, any other social networks, streaming application or photo-sharing apps. All of them become associated with your Facebook account once you install them on your smartphone or pc. You can also choose the “Privacy” then go to All Settings > Apps and adjust who will be able to watch your activity.

• Keep Your Personal Information Hidden From Unwanted People:

Over the years, Facebook has probably collected different personal information. Like your email address, your birthday and date, your phone number, where you have studied or studying, your gender, where you belong to, where you work at, who you are married to and who you are connected to.

You can change who sees what by heading to the “About” section of your profile and selecting Edit under each section. To change the privacy settings from “Your Friends” to “Only Me” will hide the given information from your profile. If you want to completely remove it you can click on the “X” to eliminate any changes.

• Hide Your Posts From Different People:

 One of the most important features of Facebook privacy is choosing who you want to show your post. For example, if you want to post about something and you want certain friends to not see it, you can choose the option “Custom” at the upper right of your post where you’ll see options of different names. You can restrain individuals from looking at your post by adding their name in the list of “Don’t Show It to XYZ”

 • Stop Other People From Sharing Your Posts:

 Once you’ve shared a photo or a status on Facebook, it’s open to being re-shared by those who have access to it. That means people you are friends with and, if you tag people, “Friends of Friends” can comment or share your post. You can choose "Friends" to stop random people from sharing your posts or commenting on them.

• Stop Random People From Sending You Friend Request:

There are a lot of people who don't want random people sending them a request. If you want to stop their request you can just click Settings Privacy and head to “who can send me friend requests.” You can change it from “Everybody” to just “Friends of Friends”. This can also be accessed from the “Privacy Shortcuts” accessed by clicking the padlock.

 • Use Two-Factor Authentication:

 To keep your account protected, Facebook has introduced the "Two-Factor Authentication" feature, where you're required to put the current phone number you're using, after typing your phone number you'll have to check for the code that Facebook has sent you. After putting the code, it will confirm your settings and your phone number for future use. Now, whenever you log in to your account you'll have to put the code that Facebook will send you every time you want to log in, before getting access to your account. This is a great way of keeping the privacy of your account because without code one can't break out into your account, it will also help in restraining anyone from hacking your account easily. Once you’ve shared a photo or a status on Facebook, it’s open to being re-shared by those who have access to it. That means people you are friends with and, if you tag people, “Friends of Friends” can comment or share your post. You can choose "Friends" to stop random people from sharing your posts or commenting on them.

• Stop Random People From Sending You Friend Request:

There are a lot of people who don't want random people sending them a request. If you want to stop their request you can just click Settings > Privacy and head to “who can send me friend requests.” You can change it from “Everybody” to just “Friends of Friends”. This can also be accessed from the “Privacy Shortcuts” accessed by clicking the padlock.

• Use Two-Factor Authentication:

 To keep your account protected, Facebook has introduced the "Two-Factor Authentication" feature, where you're required to put the current phone number you're using, after typing your phone number you'll have to check for the code that Facebook has sent you. After putting the code, it will confirm your settings and your phone number for future use. Now, whenever you log in to your account you'll have to put the code that Facebook will send you every time you want to log in, before getting access to your account. This is a great way of keeping the privacy of your account because without code one can't break out into your account, it will also help in restraining anyone from hacking your account easily.

 

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Related Articles
About Author